#0031: "Its ok mom", my son said.

Education Next-Thirty first Edition

Reading time: 8.20 min

Hey đź‘‹ - Hello, there!!

I started sending out newsletters in May 2022, and little did I know how much impact it would have on me as a person.

The feedback that I got from my readers was amazing, and it made me feel empowered to share even more of my ideas with the world.

It was a great confidence booster for me and also allowed me to connect with amazing people all over the world.

It helped me connect to alternate learners, educators, and parents who shared similar interests and provided me with the opportunity to discuss our thoughts and ideas. I was able to get different perspectives on how parents are looking at learning for their kids, and it gave me the confidence to share my insights with them.

I got the opportunity to share what Adi learns in a week as a free learner through the section Learning Zone where I discuss projects, technology, resources, and tools Adi explores. I also got to share ideas and resources on how parents can create a personalized learning environment for their children.

There is this section where I talk about Bonding with kids which is about my journey of parenting and how I do it differently. Through this section, I have created a community with parents who share similar stories and learn together as we progress in our day-to-day lives.

By sending out newsletters, I got the opportunity to create an audience from different parts of the world who can connect with me on a personal level and also get access to different resources that can help them in creating unique learning experiences for their children.

It has been an incredible journey so far, and I am looking forward to many more years of connecting with people through the newsletter.

I will continue to create content around personalized learning and parenting, which will help parents explore different opportunities for their children. I will also share different resources, tools, and projects that Adi explores each week through the Learning Zone section.

Through my newsletter, I hope to continue connecting with people from everywhere who have unique stories to tell and create a community of alternate learners, educators, parents, and other individuals interested in this field.

Here is a list of people who I have met this year related to alternate learning and parenting:

Learning Zone

My son and I explored GPT chat together, and it was an incredible experience.

We both learned a lot about technology, how it works, and what potential uses it has for our lives.

It was fascinating to see how the AI could generate conversations that were surprisingly natural-sounding. We also discussed some of the ethical implications of using GPT, and what it might mean for the future of communication.

Adi was especially intrigued by the possibilities, so much so that he started dreaming up all kinds of applications for GPT in his everyday life.

Here is the question we asked

Should I use chatgpt for my homework asked by a 9-year-old?

Answer by ChatGPT:

It is generally not a good idea to use chatbots or other artificial intelligence (AI) systems to complete your homework assignments.

While chatbots and other AI systems can be useful tools for generating ideas or providing information, they are not capable of fully understanding or replicating the thought process and critical thinking skills that are essential to many homework assignments.

It is important to complete your homework assignments on your own, using your own knowledge, understanding, and critical thinking skills. This will not only help you to learn and retain information, but it will also help you to develop important skills such as problem-solving and critical thinking, which are essential for success in school and in life.

If you are having trouble with your homework, it is a good idea to ask your teacher or a trusted adult for help. They can provide guidance and support to help you understand the material and complete your assignments. It is also a good idea to seek help from a tutor or study group if you are struggling to keep up with your coursework.

You can read my article on Chat GPT (link below)

Conscious Bonding

Bonding over spilled soup

Today I reached my office and was all set to start my work when I opened my bag to see that my soup was spilled all over my bag. I was quite frustrated and didn't know how to go about this mess. My son saw this and he was quick to help me out.

  • He got me a cloth, and some wet wipes and started wiping the soup off my bag. I was so amazed by his patience and presence of mind and it made me wonder whether children have more patience than adults.

  • He also kept talking to me while he was cleaning and it helped me focus on something else other than my frustrated state.

  • He checked all my gadgets and belongings which were in the bag after cleaning it and made sure nothing was damaged. He said that we should be happy that nothing happened to the gadgets.

  • He told me these things happen sometimes who knew this could happen today? His positive attitude and his calmness made me think that children indeed have more patience than adults.

  • He also suggested we carry a separate bag for lunch next time so this doesn't happen again. I learned my lesson and promised to follow his advice.

It got me thinking further about how children seem to have more patience than adults. They're able to keep their cool in situations where adults find themselves losing their patience.

I was thinking that when kids do such mistakes, adults get frustrated and start scolding them. But my son’s reaction was different. He stayed calm and tried to make things right without getting upset or angry.

This made me realize that children have more patience than adults and they can handle difficult situations much better.

Adults need to learn from the way children stay patient in difficult situations and try to emulate them.

If you want to read the full article on this topic, find the link at the end

cheers, Priyanka

Post of the week from Twitter

Instagram post of the week

Recommendation of the week

Read the book Reva and PrIsha to learn about a queer family that doesn't fit into traditional definitions of family.

This book challenges traditional norms by depicting an alternate family structure of two mothers and their two kids. The characters are Hindu and Muslim, and the story focuses on themes of kindness, empathy, sibling love, family, compassion and appreciating nature and the world around us.

Adi read this book and was able to relate to Prisha and Reva, who were different than the traditional family unit he knew. The book taught him that what makes a family isn't always two married parents; it can be anyone who loves each other and supports one another unconditionally.

It also showed him how important it is to appreciate people for who they are instead of making judgments based on their differences from the “norm.”

Recent Blogs