#0034: Single mom who has travelled 50 countries

Education Next-Thirty fourth Edition

Reading time: 7.10 min

Hey !!👋

Hope you are doing well and well prepared for the weather.

As my journey towards alternate learning options continue, I have been able to meet more people who resonate with my views and are also looking for alternate ways of learning. These include people from various backgrounds, including those who want to learn in a more structured environment and those who wish to explore their own interests.

I met Lizz Quain this week- she is WorldSchooling Expert

She has traveled to 50 countries so far and she has been able to learn and gain so much insight from the various cultures and lifestyles she has come across. She told me that world schooling was an eye-opening experience for her which helped shape her understanding of the world, its people, and culture.

Lizz advises those who wish to explore alternative learning options to go out and explore, and travel if possible, as it is an amazing way to learn and understand different cultures and societies. She believes it can be a powerful tool for personal growth and understanding.

Currently, she is in Bansko with one of her twin daughters, she was very kind to share all the details of her stay there with me. She mentioned that her daughter has enrolled with the local programs and activities which are open to all, and the city itself is full of learning opportunities. She also told me about the local food, culture, and the people of Bansko which she has grown very fond of.

She ensures that her kids get to decide what interests them the most and pursue it, instead of feeding them with information. They research the places they like to travel to and she mentors them through the learning process.

I could easily connect with her journey as I myself have been exploring alternative ways of learning, be it in a structured environment or an unstructured one. My curiosity was piqued when I heard about world schooling and I am certain that it will be an incredible experience for those who want to travel and learn.

What I have learned from my conversation with Lizz Quain is that world schooling is a great way for anyone to explore different cultures and lifestyles, gain insight and grow as an individual.

If you are looking for an alternate way of learning, world schooling is definitely worth considering.

Liz said a very interesting thing that travel life is not only for people living in first world countries but also for people living in less privileged countries. She mentioned that there are many ways to gain knowledge and understanding from other cultures, and world schooling is just one of them.

If you want to learn more about Lizz's work - https://www.facebook.com/lizz.quain

Happy exploring!

Learning Zone

Adi has been creating Scratch tutorial videos on YouTube.

He learned to make his script, record, make his video, and create thumbnails all by himself. While making videos is the easy part, I think editing and uploading take a lot of time.

He motivated me to record a video and upload it to YouTube. I was reluctant at first considering the time it takes to set up etc. But in no time he set up my account on Vimeo and then walked me through the whole process. He taught me to record my screen, and use the various other options available.

Kids are no doubt fast learners and tech experts today.

With Adi's guidance, I was able to easily record videos, edit them and upload them onto YouTube. Here is the video.

Conscious Bonding

Bonding with kids over Sports

It's getting cold here where we live. As the weather is getting colder, it's hard to find activities for kids outdoors. But there’s one thing that can keep kids active and bring families together — sports.

Adi has been bored not being able to play with friends anymore. Today he made me promise to play cricket with him.

I was feeling too lazy to move my body, but once I started playing with him and running around the backyard, it was like I had gone back in time. We laughed a lot while we chased each other and played cricket. It was a great bonding experience for us.

Why playing with kids can be a great idea?

  • It gives parents and kids an opportunity to bond over something they both love- 

  • It is a great way to develop physical skills in children

  • Parents can get some exercise

  • It also helps in relieving stress for both the parents and children by providing a distraction from day-to-day life. 

  • It does not require a lot of money, just some basic sports equipment

  • Kids get to see the other side of their parents

Find the link to the full blog below

cheers, Priyanka

Post from Twitter

Recent Blogs