#0050: Did you choose learning with life

Education Next- fiftieth Edition

Reading time: 7.30 min

Hey !!đź‘‹

This week lets read about:

  • Celebrating my 50th Newsletter

  • Adi towards his self-learning journey

  • Why I encourage people to take alternate learning path

I got overwhelmed thinking I was writing my 50th newsletter,

When I started writing my newsletter,

I was not sure how far it will go,

How will it connect with people?

50 newsletters down I see a growth in my followers and that makes me happy.

I have written many blogs during this time,

and this has helped me understand alternate learning more and more

I have read books, met alternate learners, written many posts

on Social media including LinkedIn, Twitter, and Instagram

Now,

  • I feel I have more clarity on alternate options for learning

  • I have connected with more people following alternate learning practices

  • I feel more confident about the choices I make

  • I feel it's ok to be different

Learning With Adi

As I explored alternate ways of learning,

I saw Adi being more grounded in his learning

“Self-education is, I firmly believe, the only kind of education there is.”

– Isaac Asimov

He slowly found his rythm

He has more clarity in choosing what he wants to do

I love to see how he is growing

This only tells me how we push kids to set curriculums

Before they get to explore and identify their interests

We must give space to kids to explore and find their way.

Conscious Bonding

"There are too many interesting things to learn ma, I can't get bored in school. At home I get to learn what I want and how I want", Adi my 9 year old tells me,

He loves self-directed learning, where he decides his path of learning and makes choices based on his interests and passions.

He loves to learn about cars and video games and he likes to read on topics that interest him.

He likes to explore how things are made and enjoy hands-on activities like building a model airplane.

Call it unschooling or self-directed learning or an alternate way of learning. It certainly is gaining popularity as parents and kids explore this form of learning.

Unschooling is certainly an attractive option for many children, as it allows them to learn in a way that best suits their needs and preferences.

Slowly unschooling is picking up pace and more parents are considering it as an option to develop their children’s knowledge, skills, creativity, and overall personality.

But the fear to leave traditional education is understandable. A few parents feel that unschooling is only for the privileged, or it will put their children at a disadvantage compared to those who follow the traditional education system.

Therefore parents must try alternate pathways and follow a slow process of deschooling and understanding the whole concept of self-directed learning, before leaping over it.

It's important to remember that unschooling is not about quitting learning, but rather, it’s about creating new opportunities for children to learn in ways that best suit their needs and interests.

I hope my newsletter encourages you to find your on path.

cheers, Priyanka

Quote of the week

MY Gift to you

Here is a list of alternate learning option for your kids no matter where you live.

Recent Blogs