#008:This is why my son never misses his class

Education Next- Eighth Edition

Reading time: 4.30 min

Hey 👋 - Hello, there!!

I have recovered now and am functional after being down with an allergic cold last week.

Adi's online classes have started, He loves to attend his class.

He checks his schedule a day before and makes sure to be on time for his sessions.

I was wondering what makes him love his classes:

  • Adi starts his session around 9.15 in the morning, he completes his sleep so he is fresh in the morning

  • There is no rush to get ready and catch the bus.

  • He loves to learn online, he has an inclination towards technology like yesterday they went to a virtual zoo where they saw live animals.

  • I don't have to force food down his neck, he can relax and eat peacefully.

  • He gets a community of like-minded students - he gets to learn from them as they have similar interests.

  • There is no pressure of learning at all, it is like he is guided towards learning naturally.

On the contrary, the school I went to as a child was different but the comparison won't be fair because that time was different.

  • I went to a boarding school, we woke up quite early, and we had to wait for our turns for everything from brushing teeth to washing ourselves.

  • Then we stood in a line till we entered the dining hall for breakfast, (call it cultured behavior)

  • The classes were typical of 8 periods, 45 min each. The classes were not engaging enough to hold our attention.

  • The academically bright students were the only ones happy in the class while many of us were clueless

  • I remember studying only during exams so it was never learning but it was memorizing till I appeared for that particular exam.

But anyway, this is how the schools worked at that time.

I was talking to Adi the other day and I told him how I never understood math concepts like he understands. I am here for him and I know how to help him but I didn't have this advantage as a child.

Parents have a very important responsibility when it comes to the early education of kids, depending on the schools completely can be risky.

I write articles on related topics - you should check out my blogs on EducationNext

Level Up For Your Kids

Reading is a great way to bond with your kid, the earlier you start reading to them its better.

I like to explore books, there are some very interesting books that you as a parent can read along with your kids.

Even if you have never read to kids before, just try reading with them.

Tips to read together with your kid:

  • Make a time when both of you are available and pick a book that is appropriate for your kid.

  • Read together, if they don't like you reading, you can tell the stories as you flip the pages together.

  • Make it a ritual and slowly you will see a change.

Read to learn more about advantages of reading to kids in the blog below. (link in the end)

Becoming Your Child's Best Friend

Adi left physical school 2 years back during COVID but he always spoke about this one friend.

Last week I suggested he message him though I was worried that his friend might not remember him after 2 years.

Adi dropped a message on his mom's phone, and guess what! his friend messaged him back and they spoke after 2 long years.

I was equally excited to see this conversation, they spoke about their days in school and the little things they used to do together.

They had a lot of common memories between them.

Yes, and they connected over Roblox so now Adi has a new Roblox friend.

Adi was really happy, he kept talking about it. I had a very little role here but that made Adi so happy.

For kids little things matter, be a part of their lives.

I wrote a blog about the importance of childhood friendship (link in the end)

Quote of the Week

André De Shields's 3 rules of longevity:

"1: Surround yourself with people whose eyes light up when they see you coming.

2: slowly is the fastest way to get to where you want to be.

3: the top of one mountain is the bottom of the next so keep climbing."

My reel of the week -

Post of the week (LinkedIn)

Tweet of the week

Recent Ideas and Posts