#009:A Free Secret Tip To Bond With Your Kid

Education Next- Ninth Edition

Reading time: 5.30 min 

Hey 👋  - Hello, there!!

I am addicted to this song lately called "Pasoori"

Slowly my son picked the song from me and had been listening to it all the time. 

So, we decided to dig in and find out how the song was created. 

It was interesting to find out that Ali Sethi who is the lead male singer read the lines of the song behind a truck. 

He then created lyrics that could resonate with people all over the world. 

Another interesting thing we found out was that the female lead singer Shae Gill was found via Instagram, Ali Sethi heard her and sent her a request. 

"Shae Gill—a student of economics whose best friend started posting videos of her singing on Instagram in 2019—and brought her into the project, thinking that her smoky voice would pair nicely with Sethi’s rich tenor"- The New Yorker

So, this was only getting interesting, this made us look deep into how the album was created and we were lucky to find the video on YouTube. 

We also found how music is created in Coke Studio. How Coke Studio is supporting local artists. Through this research, Adi was able to learn a lot of things. To list a few:

  • He understood the power of Social Media

  • The music creator economy

  • Behind the scene of creating music

  • About Local artists

  • The political divide between two countries

Adi Asked me if Ali Sethi is from Pakistan and when I told him, "yes he is from Pakistan". He told me ma. "why do people think Pakistani people are not good, they have created such a beautiful song, how does it make them different?"

I told him, that boundaries are created by people and music breaks these boundaries. This also reminded me of something that Ali Sethi said during one of his interviews about Pasoori

Actually, in one of the interviews, Ali Sethi mentioned how the idea of the song began when he was to collaborate on a project in Mumbai, India. But his travel was canceled due to political reasons and Sethi looked at this as an opportunity. He said, “So I did what desi bards have done for ages,” he said, referring to South Asian songwriters of yore. “I might not have been able to travel to India, but I knew my music could.”

According to the New Yorker, “The song is stealthily subversive: a traditional raga—the classical Indian framework for musical improvisation—has been laid over an infectious beat that sounds South Asian, Middle Eastern, and, improbably, reggaetón, all at once"

This was a great exercise to do with Adi and discover all this. He was able to make sense of so many things and his perspective about music changed. 

  • Now he notices the videos in an album and talks about how it is created 

  • He talks about how the success of a particular album

  • He is able to find out about the origin of the song, the music, etc.

  • He understands the hard work that goes into making an album.

  • He is able to notice other musicians on an album

  • His perception of people in a different country changed.

Want to read more on this - go to the link in the end 

Level Up For Your Kids

"Ma, I don't know how to sleep. Please help me"

It's easy to tell kids to be in the bed by 9 pm and go to sleep but it can be very difficult for kids if they do not how to sleep by themselves.

Getting angry at kids is not fair. 

I knew that I had to do something about it and then I started a wrap-up routine with my kid. These steps helped me find a way to help my kid sleep well. 

  • Self-care routine before the bed 

  • Going to bed at the same time every day 

  • Keeping the phone away

  • Switching off the light 

  • Create an atmosphere of love and security 

  • Practice mindfulness together

  • Say a prayer or chant a mantra to calm the mind

I have been practising these steps and it has helped both of us sleep better.

If you want to read more - go to the link at the end

Becoming Your Child's Best Friend

Have you considered sharing your music playlist with your child?

Try sharing your music playlist with your kids, your kids might have different interests in music, But they can connect with you on some songs. 

Adi and I started this game where we get to play our favorite music in turns.

I have got to liking many of the songs that he play and he has been listening to some of the songs I like. 

He was humming "Rang" by Rekha Bharadwaj the other day.

Quote of the Week 

My reel of the week - 

Post of the week (LinkedIn)

Tweet of the week 

Recent Ideas and Posts