#005: Here is why we dance in the rain

Education Next- Fifth Edition

Reading time: 5 min 10 sec

Hey 👋  - Hello, has rain knocked in your window yet?

What comes to your mind when I ask you to tell me your happiest memory of rain as a child?

 I asked some of my friends how they felt about rains and this is what they had to say, 

"Making Paper boats with my brother, getting wet in the first rain, Raincoats and muddy puddles"- Kanak

"The smell of sand, the green leaves shining and glittering, no need to carry water to the plants, sound of insects in the night after rain stops...the noise of rain and comfortable sleep...without fan"- Narmada

"When I was visiting our village in Maharashtra and it was monsoon season - it started pouring down and I ran from a family friends house to mine despite being told not to and I got totally drenched . I loved it and it felt sooo good"- Omita

"Paper boats on road side streams"- Gayathri

"Floating paper boats is the first thing that comes to my mind when I think about a memory of rain as a child! Just the smell of earth, the sound of rain, Mom making hot samosa and pakoda in the kitchen for me and my brother is the best thing ever. And most of all waiting for the school holiday announcement on the news while getting ready for the school itself"- Aarti

"Paper Boats"- Arpita

"Jumping on and over puddles of water,and making boats" - Kanchan

"Wearing raincoat and going to school"- Deepam

"When I was 8 I was down with fever and I had to stay indoors ... it was the month of November/December and rain was a usual occurence ...the ice cream wala who usually comes was there down ... after giving popsicles to all he was looking for me ... I was smiling within ... he looked up casually and when he saw me his face lit up ... he called me down to give me my favourite grape popsicle. I was telling him in sign language that I have fever but he said Vada kutti ... I just ran down and that love in the rain I'll never forget" - Priyanka G

"Going to terrace and getting drenched, Eating pakodas after that"- Bindu

It was lovely to hear all these beautiful memories. This also tells us that we remember the little thing we do as a child. 

While most of our childhood includes paper boats, raincoats and puudles,

When we grow we stop enjoying the little pleasures,

We expect our kids to stay indoors.

Rains not only brings joy to kids, It is therapeutic for adults as well. 

Adi and I make most of the rain, whenever possible, 

Its lovely to be out there and enjoy the rain showers together. 

Rainy days are a great opportunity to spend some quality time with your family.

So don’t let the rain dampen your spirits. Embrace it and make the most of it!

Watch some fun experiences we created as we played in the rain. 

Read this blog to know more about enjoying and learning from the rains. (link in the end)

Level Up For Your Kids

Cooking is a great activity to bond with kids,

Kids can learn a lot of thing when cooking together.

The fun is in helping kids get involved in the kitchen,not just serving them cooked food.

So, Adi is a big pasta fan, we cooked this last week when we were really starving,

Here is the recipe you can try cooking with your kid, 

Ingredients for Pasta

  • 3/4 cup Penne Pasta or any Pasta

  • salt

  • water

  • veggies like capsicum or Broccoli (sauteed)

 White Sauce

  • Butter

  • Garlic ( I don't add this)

  • Refined flour

  • Milk

  • Oregano

  • Pepper powder

Directions 

  • Boil the pasta as per the instruction given on the packet ( add some salt while boiling and a tablespoon of oil)

  • While pasta is boiling, start the process of making white sauce- heat 1½ tablespoons butter Add 1/2 teaspoon finely chopped garlic and sauté for 30 second, Add 2 spoons of maida and 1/2 cup and keep mixing so that there are no lumps. Add 1/4 teaspoon oregano, a pinch of black pepper powder and salt.

  • Mix the white sauce, veggies and pasta. Enjoy it with your kids

Becoming Your Child's Best Friend

'The Mango War'

We have been enjoying the mangoes from my aunt's garden 

The ripe mangoes fall and if you are lucky you will get one while walking by,

The neighbours find ways to get inside the garden to get a mango or two

Adi wakes up and the first thing he does is go hunting for the mangoes. 

Adi and I were pondering over the gifts a fruit tree can give you, 

Imagine where the seed would have come from, 

The kind soul who planted the mango seed, 

We are so lucky to be here at this time to enjoy the mangoes. 

Like the saying goes

If you have even a little space at home, grow a plant with your kid. 

Water the plant everyday, make it a habit. 

See the joy in your kid's eye when the plant grows, on when it has a flower. 

They will always remember it!

HAVE FUN!

Cheers, Priyanka

Recent Ideas and Posts